Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Senior Secondary at MacGregor State High School

At MacGregor State High School we recognise that Senior Secondary is a time when young people are laying the foundation for future success. We acknowledge that each student is an individual and inspire each of them to use education to prepare for their chosen pathway. 

Underpinned by the school classroom learning motto, “Every student, Every classroom, Every opportunity” our educational program caters for each of our clan members. 

Obtaining a Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE) 

The QCE is a school-based qualification awarded to young people who have achieved set standards in a “significant amount of learning” and who have met literacy and numeracy requirements. 

A significant amount of learning (20 credit points) includes:  

  • minimum 12 credits from completed core
  • remaining 8 credits from a combination of core, preparatory, enrichment and advanced courses of study  

A set standard of achievement is: 

  • a Sound Level of Achievement (for school subjects)
  • completion (VET studies)  

For more information visit 

Higher Education for students graduating in or before 2019: 

Higher Education is a general term given to studying at a University or TAFE. 

Two direct ways to access higher education: 

  • be OP-eligible
  • use your Tertiary Entrance Rank 

Overall Position (OP) 

Your OP gives you a rank order position from 1 (highest) to 25 (lowest). It is a combined result of your best 100 weighted semester units from Authority subjects. You must sit the QCS test. You must have 5 Authority Subjects

Tertiary Entrance Rank  

Uses the achievement of your best 20 semesters of all school subjects and or VET units. 

Does not require 5 Authority subjects. 

For more information visit 

Entering Higher Education for students graduating after 2019: 

Please note this information is subject to change in response to directives from the QCAA 

Further education usually means studying at University, TAFE or another learning institution. Senior students will be assigned an Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR) at the conclusion of year 12 if they meet the following criteria:

  • Complete at least 20 units of study in Authority subjects
  • Must complete at least three of these subjects for four semesters (year 11 and year 12)


A fine-grained rank order of students.

Calculated by comparing student results. There will be a process of inter subject scaling which allows the results in different types of subjects to be compared.  

The method of inter subject scaling is still to be finalised by the Senior Assessment Taskforce. 

For more information visit 

Starting your training early: 

Vocational Education and Training (VET) is “education and training for work” and part of a broader educational network in Australia that includes schools, TAFE, Universities and Private Registered Training Organisations (RTO).  

VET studies award students with Certificate Qualifications (1, 2, 3 or 4) in a range of courses. These qualifications contribute towards QCE attainment.

VET courses can be studied as stand-alone academic courses or combined with on the job training in the form of School Based Apprenticeships and Traineeships (SAT’s).  
For more information visit